Child Safety

MDAS is a Child Safe Organisation and we take our responsibility to deliver a supportive environment, that is caring, nurturing and safe, seriously.

We are committed to safeguarding children and young people from abuse and neglect.

It is the responsibility of all at MDAS staff, volunteers and board members to implement the 11 Child Safe Standards.

The Standards Aim To:

  • Promote the safety of children
  • Prevent child abuse
  • Ensure organisations and businesses have effective processes in place to respond to and report all allegations of child abuse.

The Child Safe Standards work by:

  • Driving changes in organisational culture – embedding child safety in everyday thinking and practice
  • Providing a minimum standard of child safety across all organisations
  • Highlighting that we all have a role to keep children safe from abuse.

The 11 Child Safe Standards that we must comply with are:

Standard 1: Organisations establish a culturally safe environment in which the diverse and unique identities and experiences of Aboriginal children and young people are respected and valued

Standard 2: Child safety and well-being is embedded in organisational leadership, governance and culture

Standard 3: Children and young people are empowered about their rights, participate in decisions affecting them and are taken seriously

Standard 4: Families and communities are informed, and involved in promoting child safety and well-being

Standard 5: Equity is upheld and diverse needs respected in policy and practice

Standard 6: People working with children and young people are suitable and supported to reflect child safety and well-being values in practice

Standard 7: Processes for complaints and concerns are child focused

Standard 8: Staff and volunteers are equipped with the knowledge, skills and awareness to keep children and young people safe through ongoing education and training

Standard 9: Physical and online environments promote safety and well-being while minimising the opportunity for children and young people to be harmed

Standard 10: Implementation of the Child Safe Standards is regularly reviewed and improved

Standard 11: Policies and procedures document how the organisation is safe for children and young people

You can find out what it means to be a child safe organisation here.